When you receive a red light camera ticket in California, it’s important to respond accurately and promptly. Usually these tickets get mailed to you within a day or two and if that time period exceeds 10 business days, it is very easy to get the camera ticket dismissed. Otherwise, if it’s not resolved with the appropriate defense within the number of days of issuance date (based on each individual court’s due date), a fine and points on your driving record – and a loss of your license may even result!
It can also cost quite a bit of money upfront as well: not just for fines themselves (which typically range around $500), but this can be significantly more because of any court fees or lawyer fees. Additionally, adding points for a camera ticket in California will likely significantly increase your auto insurance rates too. Of course, if you take time off from work to handle this issue, you could be looking at an additional loss of income as well! Get the full rundown on the cost of a red light camera ticket.
These fees, fines, and premium increases can skyrocket this amount into the thousands of dollars very easily and put many people in serious financial trouble for simply having a photo taken while you were driving. With all of these expenses associated with a red light camera violation, we strongly recommend that you NEVER JUST PAY A CAMERA TICKET!