How Much is a Ticket for Running a Stop Sign in California?
As the No.1 Traffic Ticket dismissal service in California, let’s fight your Traffic Ticket now for only $99!
Running a stop sign can be an extremely simple, but very costly mistake when driving throughout California. So, if you recently got a ticket for running a stop sign, California Vehicle Code 22450, we understand that you might be a bit nervous about the cost and how it could effect your insurance, etc.
Not only are there many distractions due to busy roads, but the signage may have been hidden behind a tree. Thus, many California drivers every year attain a ticket for running a stop sign. We talk to dozens of people every day that are going through this and we have helped hundreds of thousands of California drivers to get them dismissed.
While it may be tempting just to give into the California court system and pay the fine upfront, it is well worth your time and patience to contest the ticket. The best way to do that is through a Trial by Written Declaration — our specialty!
But you came here to get the facts. So let’s take a look at how much a ticket is for running a stop sign in California, and we’ll also show you the best way to fight it.
Vehicle Code (VC) 22450 states that a “driver of any vehicle approaching a stop sign at the entrance to, or within, an intersection shall stop at a limit line, if marked, otherwise before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection. If there is no limit line or crosswalk, the driver shall stop at the entrance to the intersecting roadway.” Therefore, a driver is at risk of a traffic citation if they do not stop before the marked or unmarked limit line.
On average, a ticket for failing to stop at a sign in California is $272. This is the minimum fine amount and could be more depending on the county. Either way, a fine for a few hundred dollars is not what you want to be paying for such as an innocent drive to the grocery store.
Additionally, your car insurance premiums could skyrocket with a point going on your driving record. Points stay on your record for three years. If you currently have points on your record, this could mean the DMV suspends your license.
Fortunately, California is one of the few states that allows drivers to fight traffic tickets through a trial by written declaration. A trial by written declaration is fighting your traffic ticket in writing instead of appearing in court. With millions of driving offenses being committed and filed each year, the court has a lot to get through. Thus, making a claim through a trial by written declaration is less stressful for you as well as the court. So you have a better chance of the traffic ticket being dismissed by contesting through the mail, as well as saving your own money and time.
Furthermore, a police officer is not incentivized for doing written paperwork on your case. If an officer does not fill out the paperwork required for written declaration cases then your ticket will be dismissed.
It may sound easy to fight your traffic ticket in writing. However, it greatly matters how you compose your defense. You must use the right words when defending your case. If not, you will miss out on getting your ticket dismissed. Worse, you might even incriminate yourself because of your lack of knowledge on driving laws or poor use of words or phrases. So, to avoid any risk, you should always ask help from a professional company that has extensive knowledge in these procedures and California driving laws.
GetDismissed California traffic ticket dismissal service helps you build the right written defense for your case. To get your written defense, all you have to do is photograph your license and ticket, tell us about the circumstance, print the documents and send documents to court. So, whenever you find yourself in such a situation, don’t get stressed, simply use GetDismissed.
GetDismissed produces results in fighting all kinds of tickets. Unfortunately, this list does not include exhibition of speed citations. Your best bet in fighting one of these infractions, is to contact an attorney. An attorney can negotiate on your behalf to try and reduce fines, or even to reduce the charges to a lesser infraction which could possibly qualify for traffic school.
We do however, contest infractions revolving around speeding, red lights, red light cameras, cell phones, signs (primarily stop signs), carpool violations, U-turns, out of lane violations, and commercial violations. If you receive a citation and have questions, contact us today.